Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Ticket News

Victory Shield Squad Announced

20 November 2012

England U16 v Scotland U16

England U16s v Scotland U16s
Sky Sports Victory Shield
7.35pm, Thursday 29 November 2012
Pirelli Stadium, Burton Albion FC

Kenny Swain has called four new players into his England U16 squad for next Thursday’s Victory Shield decider against Scotland.

Chelsea duo Bradley Collins and Jay Dasilva, Sunderland’s Daniel Pybus and Giorgio Rasulo from MK Dons will all get their first taste of international football when they meet up with the rest of the squad at St. George’s Park.

A draw at Burton Albion’s Pirelli Stadium will secure the Young Lions’ twelfth straight success in the Shield, following a 5-0 win over Northern Ireland in September and a 1-0 win against Wales earlier this month.

Tottenham’s Joshua Onomah is the only player to be included in the squad for all three Victory Shield matches.

Burton Albion Chairman Ben Robinson said, ‘To be hosting the young England and Scotland sides in the Victory Shield at the Pirelli Stadium is terrific for the local area and is a fantastic opportunity to see some of the most exciting prospects in British football. I am sure that many of the young players announced today in Kenny Swain’s squad will go on to be household names of the future.

‘Tickets for this match are very reasonably priced at £3 for adults and £1 for concessions so I’d like to urge as many people from the local area to come down with their families and enjoy the evening.’

Swain said: “We have been lucky enough to put out 22 different starters in the two games so far and, as there are a few new players in the squad for this game, that number could increase.

“The Victory Shield is of massive value to us. It gives the players crucial experience of tournament football and it prepares them for next season, when the U17s will be involved in UEFA qualifiers.

“Over the last few years the number of players we have looked at has increased. We would usually look at around 30 players but in the last couple of years that number has been closer to 50 and that has to be a good thing.

“So it’s important we give as many players as possible game time in an England shirt and this competition allows us to do just that."

Squad in full

Bradley Collins (Chelsea), Ryan Huddart (Arsenal)
Tom Brewitt (Liverpool), Kyle Cameron (Newcastle United), Jay Dasilva (Chelsea), Mandela Ego (Crystal Palace), Joseph Gomez (Charlton Athletic), Tafari Moore (Arsenal)
Mukhtar Ali (Chelsea), Ryan Ledson (Everton), Joshua Onomah (Tottenham Hotspur), Daniel Pybus (Sunderland), Giorgio Rasulo (MK Dons), Jordan Rossiter (Liverpool)
Adam Armstrong (Newcastle United), Isaiah Brown (West Bromwich Albion), Demetri Mitchell (Manchester United), Patrick Roberts (Fulham). 

Advertisement block