Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

England u17s squad announced

14 March 2013

The Pirelli Stadium hosts international football this month and John Peacock has named his England U17s squad for the crucial Euro Elite Qualifying Round.

The Young Lions host opposition from Portugal, Russia and Slovenia for a place in May’s Euro Championship Finals in Slovakia; with the latter two matches taking place at the home of Burton Albion.

With only one team from the four heading to the Finals, it’s an important stage for England who include four under-age players in the squad.

Freddie Woodman, Joseph Gomez, Dan Crowley and Isaiah Brown are all eligible for next season’s U17 group, but Peacock has chosen to call upon them for the Elite Round.

He said: “We are now getting to the crucial end of the season, which we have all been preparing for. 

“The prize of reaching the UEFA U17 Finals is a significant one, with the top team here qualifying for this important event.”

Qualification for the Euro Finals will also provide an opportunity to seal a spot in the FIFA U17 World Cup, which is held in UAE later this year.

England kick-off their qualifiers against Portugal at Walsall’s Banks’s Stadium on Saturday 23 March before facing Russia two days later on Monday, March 25th at the Pirelli Stadium; 7pm kick off.

The final game against Slovenia is in Burton on Thursday 28 March; 3pm kick off.

Tickets for the games against Russia and Slovenia can be purchased by calling the Burton Albion Ticket Office on 01283 565938 or by visiting the Club Shop at the Pirelli Stadium.  

Tickets are priced at just £3 for Adults, with Over 65s/Under 16s £1.


The Squad

Goalkeepers: Angus Gunn (Manchester City), Freddie Woodman (Newcastle United).

Defenders: Josh Aina (Chelsea), Joseph Gomez (Charlton Athletic), Connor Ogilvie (Tottenham Hotspur), Ashley Smith-Brown (Manchester City) Ben O'Hanlon (Wolverhampton Wanderers).

Midfielders: Bamidele Alli (MK Dons), Kean Bryan (Manchester City), Charlie Colkett (Chelsea), Bryn Morris (Middlesbrough), Ruben Loftus Cheek (Chelsea), Dan Crowley (Aston Villa),

Attackers: Isaiah Brown (West Bromwich Albion), Mason Bennett (Derby County), George Green (Everton), Alex Kiwomya (Chelsea), Jerome Sinclair (Liverpool).

Advertisement block