Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News


5 November 2017

BURTON Albion Football Club has been shortlisted for the The Football Supporters' Federation 'Away Day of the Year' award.

The award ceremony will take place on Monday 4th December at The Pavilion at The Tower of London.

Cardiff City, Chesterfield, Fulham, Southampton and Swansea City have also been nominated for the award.

Supporters cannot vote for this award as it will be decided by a Football Supporters' Federation on the night of the awards.

Ninety shortlisted candidates will battle it out across 15 categories on the night.

In the Men's Player of the Year category, it's a London versus Manchester battle, with Antonio Conte's title-winning Chelsea side and Mauricio Pochettino's high flying Tottenham having two nominations apiece – Cesar Azpilicueta and N'Golo Kanté for the Blues, and Harry Kane and Hugo Lloris for Spurs. They'll be doing battle with Man United's Romelu Lukaku and Man City's Kevin de Bruyne for the top prize.

This is the second year that the FSF are celebrating the Women's Player of the Year, with the summer's European Championships firmly in mind. Man City's Jill Scott and Arsenal's Jordon Nobbs have been shortlisted for the second year in a row, alongside the WSL Spring Series' top scorer Fran Kirby of Chelsea, Reading's Jade Moore, Caroline Weir from Liverpool and Ellen White of Birmingham City.

Sky Sports colleagues Jamie Carragher and Gary Neville, both previous FSF award winners, will once-again go head-to-head in the Pundit of the Year category. The two former defenders are up against a formidable front line of Alan Shearer, Gary Lineker and Ian Wright, with Jermaine Jenas rounding out the shortlist.

Advertisement block