Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News


2 December 2022

Club News


2 December 2022

TONY Bentley offers some facts and figures ahead of tomorrow’s trip to MK Dons.

On This Day

On this date in 2019 the Brewers drew 1-1 with Southend United in League One at the Pirelli Stadium. A crowd of 1,880 saw a 49th minute goal from Scott Fraser earn a point, after Burton had fallen behind midway through the first half, then had John-Joe O’Toole dismissed after 33 minutes.

In 2016 Albion were at home again, this time defeating Rotherham United 2-1 in the Championship. A crowd of 4.446 saw Jackson Irvine give Burton the lead after 15 minutes. Matty Palmer doubled the advantage after 62 minutes, before the Millers scored a 90th minute consolation.  

Jason Rhodes scored the only goal of the game on this date in 1994 when the Brewers secured all three points away at Dorchester Town in the Beazer Home Premier Division.

Waterlooville were the opponents on this date in 1988 for a Beazer Homes Premier Division clash at Eton Park. Goals from Joey Taylor and John Gayle earned a 2-0 win in front of 788 spectators.

Another Beazer Home Premier game was played on this date in 1986 when Burton travelled to face Worksop Town. A crowd of 363 witnessed a 3-3 draw with Paul Groves, Simon Redfern and Nigel Simms scoring for the Brewers.


MK Dons

The first-ever meeting between the two sides wasn’t until October 5th 2019 when the Brewers triumphed 3-0 at Stadium MK under Nigel Clough. Liam Boyce opened the scoring after 32 minutes, before Oliver Sarkic fired home a screamer after 54 minutes in front of the visiting Albion fans. Boyce added another in the final minute to complete a fine victory

They next visited Stadium MK on 12th December 2020 with Jake Buxton in the Burton dugout. This was one of only two matches that season that the Brewers played in front of any fans. This match and the following weekend at Ipswich Town, saw the home sides allowed 2,000 fans to attend. Colin Daniel gave Albion an 8th minute lead in a starting eleven that contained John Brayford, Joe Powell and Ciaran Gilligan. MK Dons equalised from the penalty spot after 73 minutes through former Brewer Scott Fraser.

In 2021 it was Jimmy Floyd Hasselbaink in charge for the visit on 20th November. Ben Garratt, Tom Hamer, Cameron Borthwick Jackson, Michael Mancienne, Terry Taylor, Joe Powell and Conor Shaughnessy started for Burton. MK Dons scored the only goal of the game after 54 minutes through Max Watters.

Saturday will see only the fourth ever visit to Stadium MK. But the Brewers will have had a different manager in the dugout each time with Dino Maamria in charge this time around.


Birthdays this week – 3rd to 9th December:-

3rd – Glenn Kirkwood 46

5th – Laurie Wilson 38

8th – Marcus Holness 34

9th – Robbie Weir 34, Martin Taylor 56

Advertisement block

iFollow Next Match Tickets Account